Michael McGoldrick


Michael has been pushing the boundaries of traditional flute playing since his teenage years when he won numerous championships, founded Manchester's influential Celtic rock band Toss The Feathers and made his first recordings. As well as having been a member of the group Capercaillie since 1998, he has also been a member of Flook, Lunasa, Big Sky and Afro Celt Sound System. 

He won the 1995 BBC Radio Two Young Tradition Award and was awarded Musician Of The Year at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards in 2006. Michael has also recently been one of the BBC Transatlantic Sessions 'house band'.

Michael plays wooden flute, uilleann pipes, mandolin, dobro and guitar - the album also features bandmates Dezi Donnelly (fiddle), Donald Shaw (keyboards), James Mackintosh (drums, percussion), John Joe Kelly (bodhran), Parvinder Bharat (tabla), Neil Yates (trumpet), Ed Boyd (guitar), Ewen Vernal (bass) and Che Beresford (drums).