Carlos Sweeney McCartin

Irish Traditional Music featuring ...


* Digital Download size 100MB zip file - download available after purchase

It is fair to say that I have been very much looking forward to this album. Having had the privilege of a preview, I can confirm that my excitement was justified listening to the 12 tracks of the finest pure-drop Traditional Music. If our music in some way reflects who we are as people, then this album demonstrates the intelligence, diligence, energy and good humour of Dylan, Cein and John. Like the album itself, time in the company of these three sound men both enlightens and entertains in equal measure!

I am delighted to hear how well Dylan is playing on this album. His playing is a joy to listen to and this comes from him showing the dedication required to become a master of his craft. It is also clear that many years of playing in Cryan's Teach Ceoil with a flute-player of Mick Mulvey's caliber has helped that process hugely. Dylan does of course have a fine pedigree being the son of John, who undoubtedly is one of the best flute players Roscommon has ever produced. Most of Dylan's teenage years were under the guidance of Mossie Martin and it was clear to me that Mossie did an outstanding job when I was in the lucky position to take over from Mossie. Mossie and I learned our music from Seamus Thompson so I think all 3 of us owe a debt of gratitude to the generosity of Seamus...  more


released April 25, 2019

Produced by Dave Sheridan and John McCartin
Recorded by Dave Sheridan Surround Sound Bud Studios
John Joe Kelly (Bodhrán) recorded by Brian McDonagh (The Magic Rooms)
Additional guitars recorded at Studio Mhic an Daill
Mixed by Donagh Hennessey – Studio Mhic an Daill
Mastered by Richard Dowling – Wav Mastering
Photography by Gerry Faughnan
Cover Design by Fiachra O’Tórna
Guest Artists George McAdam – Banjo (Tracks 5, 8 and 11)
Donal Lunny – Bouzouki, Zouk and Bodhrán (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 6, 9, 11 & 12)
John Joe Kelly – Bodhran (Tracks 1, 3 and 8)
Padraig McGovern Drone (Track 9)